3 important things that happened in the Senate today

Firstly, the Senate, swore in the three senators who were declared winners in last Saturday’s National Assembly rerun election in Rivers State, by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC .


The senators are Magnus Abe, APC, Rivers South ;George Sekibo, PDP, Rivers East and Osinachukwu Ideozu, PDP, Rivers West, respectively.

Senate President, Bukola Saraki, who performed the brief swearing-in ceremony on in the senators, congratulated the trio on their victories just as he charged them to perform their legislative assignments to the expectations of their constituents, who he noted, reposed confidence on them.

Secondly, earlier, the house unanimously refused to grant confirmation to the nomination of Ibrahim Magu as Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

Finally, the Senate after the swearing-in programme announced that it had adjourned plenary to January 10, 2017.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s